2016 Keesee Luncheon

Thank you to all who supported and attended the Keesee Luncheon on November 2, 2016. 

Thomas W. Keesee, Jr. Conservation Award Honoree:
Christopher (Kim) Elliman
President and Chief Executive Officer, Open Space Institute

This award is presented in recognition of remarkable leadership and commitment to Audubon’s mission.  The award is named in remembrance of Thomas W. Keesee, Jr.’s lifelong commitment to the environment and advocacy of Audubon’s grassroots legacy. 

Christopher (Kim) Elliman has been with Open Space Institute (OSI) since 1992 and serves as its President and CEO.  OSI has conserved more than 2.3 million acres in the eastern U.S. and, in the process, has created more than 50 new parks and protected areas.  OSI acquires, finances, and promotes the conservation of lands for human use and resilient natural systems.

Mr. Elliman has worked for investment management companies, private equity partnerships, and diversified holding companies.  He also serves on numerous non-profit and foundation boards, including:  The Geraldine R. Dodge Foundation (Chairman), Overhills Foundation (Chairman), Butler Conservation Fund, Samuel Freeman Charitable Trust, The Wilderness Society, Wildlife Conservation Society, Jamaica Bay Rockaway Parks Conservancy, Black Rock Forest Preserve, The Adirondack Council, Storm King Art Center, Grow NYC, and on numerous advisory boards.  Mr. Elliman also serves on the Board of The Dalton School and Yale University’s Forestry and Environmental Leadership Council.

Click here to view Kim Elliman's honoree video. 

Audubon New York Award for Environmental Writing Honoree:
Dr. Edward O. Wilson
University Research Professor Emeritus, Harvard University

This award recognizes writers who use the power of the pen to influence positive change in the world of environmental conservation in support Audubon’s mission.

University Research Professor Emeritus, Harvard University Edward O. Wilson is generally recognized as one of the several leading biologists in the world. He is acknowledged as the creator of two scientific disciplines (island biogeography and sociobiology), three unifying concepts for science and the humanities jointly (biophilia, biodiversvity studies, and consilience), and one major technological advance in the study of global biodiversity (the Encyclopedia of Life). Among more than one hundred awards he has received worldwide are the U. S. National Medal of Science, the Crafoord Prize (equivalent of the Nobel, for ecology) of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, the International Prize of Biology of Japan, and in letters, two Pulitzer Prizes in non-fiction, the Nonino and Serono Prizes of Italy, and the COSMOS Prize of Japan. He is currently Honorary Curator in Entomology and University Research Professor Emeritus, Harvard University.

For more details on each of these awards, click here.

1 of 8

Photo credit: Sunny Norton, © Guest of a Guest Photography