Conservation

Be a Good Egg Volunteer Opportunity at Sunken Meadow State Park

Saturday, July 31, 2021
9:30am - 2:15pm Eastern Kings Park, New York

Location Details

Sunken Meadow State Park

Kings Park, 11754

Be a Good Egg Volunteer Opportunity at Sunken Meadow State Park

July 31, 2021 - Kings Park, NY

Calling all bird and beach lovers—we need your help! Join Audubon New York’s 2021 Be a Good Egg outreach volunteer team. If you enjoy talking with people, love the beach, and care about threatened and endangered birds, this opportunity is for you.

“Be a Good Egg” is an outreach initiative that encourages people to share the shore with beach-nesting birds like the Piping Plover. We educate beach-goers about birds and ask them to take the “Be a Good Egg” Pledge to:

  1. Keep out of fenced-off nesting areas;
  2. Keep trash off the beach; and,
  3. Keep dogs off of nesting beaches.

We’re asking Long Islanders to help out at one or more of the following outreach events from 9:30 a.m. to 2:15 p.m. (which can be split into two shifts if volunteers prefer):

  • Saturday, June 12 at Stehli Town Beach (Bayville, NY) - rain date Saturday, June 19
  • Sunday, June 13 at Centre Island Beach (Mill Neck, NY) - rain date Saturday, June 19
  • Sunday, June 20 at Sunken Meadow State Park (Kings Park, NY) - rain date Sunday, June 27
  • Saturday, June 26 at West Meadow Beach (Setauket, NY) - rain date Sunday, June 27
  • Saturday, July 3 at Jones Beach State Park, Field 2 (Wantagh, NY) - no rain date
  • Sunday, July 4 at Sunken Meadow State Park (Kings Park, NY) - rain date Saturday, July 10
  • Sunday, July 11 at West Meadow Beach (Setauket, NY) - rain date Saturday, July 10
  • Saturday, July 17 at Lido Beach Town Park (Lido Beach, NY) - rain date Sunday, July 25
  • Sunday, July 18 at Point Lookout Town Park (Point Lookout, NY) - rain date Sunday, July 25
  • Saturday, July 24 at Sunken Meadow State Park (Kings Park, NY) - no rain date
  • Saturday, July 31 at Sunken Meadow State Park (Kings Park, NY) - no rain date

Those interested should please plan to also participate in one of the two virtual training session options:

  • Sunday, June 6 at 4 p.m.
  • Wednesday, June 9 at 7 p.m.

For more information, to sign up, or if you are interested and missed the training sessions, please email katherine.oconnell@audubon.org.

Piping Plover. Photo: Sandy Selesky / Audubon Photography Awards

Other Upcoming Events

Woods walk at Rheinstrom Hill Audubon Center and Sanctuary
Events

Woods walk at Rheinstrom Hill Audubon Center and Sanctuary

Saturday, August 21, 2021 at 10:00am Eastern

Details

How you can help, right now