Centers, Sanctuaries, & Chapters

2018 is Proclaimed the Year of the Bird Throughout Westchester County

Five Audubon chapters in NY were honored for their work in educating the public & protecting birds and the places they need.

At the 53rd Annual Meeting for the Federated Conservationists of Westchester County (FCWC) in Mount Vernon last month, five Audubon Society chapters were honored for their work in educating the public and protecting birds and the places they need, and County Executive George Latimer presented FCWC and the Audubon Societies a proclamation declaring 2018 as “The Year of the Bird Throughout Westchester.”

The Year of the Bird is a joint endeavor between Audubon, National Geographic, BirdLife International, and the Cornell Lab of Ornithology, celebrating the 100th anniversary of the signing of the Migratory Bird Treaty Act (MBTA)—a pivotal piece of legislation that continues to save countless birds’ lives. Across the country, Audubon programs are partnering with elected officials in municipalities, cities, and even states to issue Year of the Bird Proclamations. Read more about the Year of the Bird and ways you can get involved, here.

At the event, County Legislator Mary Jane Shimsky and representatives of Congressman Eliot Engel and Assemblyman Steve Otis presented awards to the five Westchester area Audubon chapters, including Suzanne Cahill (Bedford Audubon), Henry May (Bronx River Sound Shore Audubon), Christopher Mignone (Central Westchester Audubon), Michael Bochnik (Hudson River Audubon), and Anne Swaim and Tom Ruth (Saw Mill River Audubon). These Audubon chapters, like others across the nation, conduct field trips, workshops, nature walks, lectures, school programs, scientific research, scholarships, and advocacy for birds and their habitats. Congratulations to these Audubon leaders and their teams for all they’re doing to help protect birds and wildlife!

Find an Audubon chapter near you, here: